The National Junior Honor Society’s newest members


The evening of April 24 was wet and gloomy, but inside the auditorium of Caroline Middle School the hearts of those in attendance shined bright like a diamond. The CMS auditorium gleamed with the accomplishments of the new members to be inducted in the National Junior Honor Society.

The National Junior Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding middle school level students. More than just an honor roll, NJHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1929.”

Since 1929, over more than one million students participate in official Honor Society activities. NHS and NJHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada. The organization does not just focus on the academic achievements of students, but their community service involvement as well.

The guest speaker for this occasion was Dr. William Noel Sr., former CMS NJHS member, educator and coach of Caroline County Public schools who inspired students by focusing on the five pillars. “Scholarship is the commitment to your learning and therefore a commitment to your future. I challenge you to be a lifelong learner,” Noel expressed. “To be a leader is to lead and not boss. A boss sits in the back, barking orders while everyone else works. I challenge you to be leaders.”

The following students recited the induction pledge to uphold the purpose of the National Junior Honor Society, to remain loyal to their school and to uphold high standards of scholarship; service; leadership; character; and citizenship: Reanna Ahnen, Laila Arnshoff, Tyler Bevan, Jacob Blevins, Ashley Breese, Brianna Cooksey, Kellen Cuevas, Kalista Driggers, Kennedy Drumm, Braiden Fletcher, Arika, Gray, Christianna Gray, Rowan Heagney, Alita Hix, Kaylin Hofmann, Amayah James, Amanda Joyce, Sean Kenny, Kayla Kinard, Jasmyne Lewis, Emma Mahaney, Lilly Mahaney, Megyn McCoy, Gabriela Mont, Heciel Nieves-Bonilla, Hassanatou Nimaga, Amanda Norman, Adrianna Patterson, Taylor Peterson, Shanyi Pierre, Shiyah Pierre, LaMarrio Pittman Jr., Breanna Ralls, Nevaeh Randolph, Justin Simulcik, Faith Smith, Hope Smith, Cassidy Southworth, Shamia Stevens, Holly Trout, Riley Wallace and Aleksandra Witkowski.

Jordyn Rollins-Williams expressed to inductees and their parents. “Being inducted into the National Junior Honor Society reflects more than academic achievement, it is a testimony of your integrity, constructive idea and outstanding citizenship. Parents in a real sense, you share this honor with your child. You have provided the foundation of character, encouragement and support that have made your son or daughter into an outstanding student”

She also acknowledged that the sponsor of the CMS National Junior Honor Society, Mrs. Baker-Latney was “like a second mom and always told me to make sure my spirit is right and if it wasn’t, she would tell me to get your spirit right! She always found the good in all things and encouraged me to always be a beacon light”.




Congratulations to our 2017-2018 Inductees


Ahnen, Reanna

Amshoff, Laila

Ballagh, Whitney

Bevan, Tyler

Blevins, Jacob

Breese, Ashley

Cooksey, Brianna

Cuevas, Kellen

Driggers, Kalista

Drumm, Kennedy

Fletcher, Braiden

Gray, Arika

Gray, Christianna

Heagney, Rowan

Hix, Alita

Hofmann, Kaylin

James, Amayah

Joyce, Amanda

Kenny, Sean

Kinard, Kayla

Lewis, Jasmyne

Mahaney, Emma

Mahaney, Lilly

McCoy, Megyn

Mont, Gabriela

Nieves-Bonilla, Heciel

Nimaga, Hassanatou

Norman, Amanda

Patterson, Adrianna

Peterson, Taylor

Pierre, Shanyi

Pierre, Shiyah

Pittman Jr, LaMarrio

Ralls, Breanna

Randolph, Nevaeh

Simulcik, Justin

Smith, Faith

Smith, Hope

Southworth, Cassidy

Stevens, Shamia

Trout, Holly

Wallace, Riley

Witkowski, Aleksandra